Don't save empty email as draft
When you close email composer, without writing anything, it should not prompt a box to ask if the (empty) email should be saved as draft.
May be related to another commenter's request to be able to disable auto-saves (comment from 2022); accidentally causing the e-mail to blank is then subsequently auto-saved and causes the loss of an e-mail: https://protonmail.uservoice.com/forums/284483-proton-mail/suggestions/32765269-optionally-disable-auto-save
I don't get a prompt box, but do have a dozen blank emails with no subjects or addresses in my drafts that don't need to be there.
Agreed. It's a bit annoying to have to go clear out the empty emails in the Drafts folder.
Ed W commented
Hi - I often create a new email and then delete it without making any edits. Even though I've made no edits, when I ask to delete the email a dialog box pops up with "Are you sure you want to permanently delete this draft?". It would be much nicer if I were not asked - yes, just delete it, there's no content!
Thank you for all you do, I surely appreciate ProtonMail
Mark K commented
Why drafts are saved if fully empty? Would there be a setting for not to get empty drafts saved, so we'd consume more time once we want to delete them (about 10-30 sec for sure) so our mailbox would not be full with empty drafts.
Absolutely agree. On the Android app this option is already implemented but not on the web version. No idea why not. I always have to manually delete all the drafts that should have never been saved in the first place, empty or not.
[Deleted User] commented
I agree and was about to suggest this same thing. My reason is that the bright, bold "Compose" button attracts my old eyes and I occasionally hit it instead of "Inbox" to do a refresh :-( No need to save an email which I did not really compose. Just something else for the user to have to clean up.
This! 100+ votes for this one!
At first I didn't realize that every EMPTY composed email is saved as a draft if you just click [x] to close the compose-email-screen. So I ended up with a draft folder full of empty emails.
I'm not sure why you need to discard an empty email to make it go away? I'd like an empty composed email to not be saved in neither draft of trash folder, but simply be gone after clicking [x] to close. I found that a simple convenience in other email clients and hope it can be adapted in protonmail as well.
James Taylor commented
If you click compose but realize that you do not want to safe email, you should be able to click the 'x' and it should ask you if you want to save.