Lumo chat expiration setting
Motivation:
Projects and Favorites are actively managed, but most of the time I just want to exchange a couple prompts with Lumo quickly and it does not necessarily concern anything big enough to be a project.
The UX is set up to just open the app and site and type away in a brand new chat. The flow of landing into a fresh chat is very satisfying and convenient, but pushes extra administration onto users that should be addressed better. All the up front convenience is simply pushed to the back of the process and it would be even nicer to land at a quick selections screen for existing chats at that point.
The current best solution does not cut it:
The current best method is to go to the 'All chats' tab and bulk-select and delete chats in one go. This is just gets annoying after a while, but on mobile this is especially annoying because the UI does not show the multi-select check boxes straight away and the canvas is cramped. Because chats aren't named after the overall conversation but the first prompt it also asks second guessing over something that does not matter.
This simply is a chore, and gets old rather quickly.
Proposed solution:
Please consider adding a setting where chats with Lumo can be automatically deleted automatically after a configurable time. This should of course default to 'never' for new users and at rollout.
As a side note, this is perfectly in line with the privacy-first approach.
There is the obvious consideration whether a change in the global setting should affect already existing chats.
I think it should not do so, and there should be an "apply to existing chats" toggle in the confirmation dialogue. This should always default to false.
Chats should record the setting as-is on its creation, meaning that if I change my expiration from 20 days to 10 days, my 15 day-old chat should not be affected if it was made while my global setting was at 20 days. Of course, the "Apply to existing" during an configuration change should overrule this; that's the whole point of it.
Addressing any complications that may arise with chats from before this system may be implemented due to the zero-access and zero-log policies, I think the most elegant solution would be to simply handle the case where, if there is no recorded expiration, to just skip over said chat. These would be rudimentary chats that need to be deleted manually at some point, or kept indefinitely.
Additionally, a system for project-level configuration of this setting would be awesome, but I think for an initial rollout it would be completely fine if favorites and projects are exempt from this. Bear in mind that these categorized chats are supposed to be actively administrated anyway.
Thanks